top of page
Search
  • Teri Finneman/Editor

City Commission candidates share priorities for office



BY LUCIE KRISMAN


Eudora voters will decide next week among five candidates vying for three open seats on the City Commission.


The below candidate profiles provide insight into those seeking office. City Commissioners Ruth Hughs and Tim Bruce are hoping for re-election while Rex Tedrow is running for the Eudora City Commission for the first time.


Candidate Peter Latta declined a request for an interview, citing work and family time constraints. Candidate Roberta Lehmann did not reply to requests for an interview but said in a prior statement that she wants to see Eudora provide a safe and enriching environment to residents and to see continued growth and commitment to Eudora senior citizens.



Tim Bruce


Bruce has been a member of the City Commission since 2015 and is also the owner of Benchmark Construction. He has lived in Eudora since 2011 and has three children in the Eudora School District.


"I originally got on the City Commission to help with the Nottingham project," Bruce said. "With my background in construction and development, I thought it was important that I contribute to the community."


Bruce thinks the progress of the project to demolish the Nottingham Elementary School building and redevelop the property site is on the right track.


"We definitely have had some hurdles, some we've overcome and some we have yet to overcome, but I do think it's going to come to light," he said.


If re-elected, Bruce wants to work on increasing Eudora's tax base and making the community better, he said.


"We have a pretty small tax base, which makes it sometimes a little more expensive to live here," Bruce said. "Continuing efforts to grow that tax base has always been important to me."


Bruce thinks a good step toward growing Eudora's tax base would be continuing to explore commercial development opportunities other than the Nottingham property.


"We've got a business park that's not fully built out, and there's available property around the community that I think could be utilized for further development," Bruce said.


He said his experience in understanding different needs and perspectives helps make him the best candidate to serve Eudora on the City Commission.


"I have a pretty unique ability to look at all perspectives," he said. "I do that in my daily business, understanding a client's needs and what we can provide."


Bruce also encourages the community to give their input on how Eudora can improve.


"If there's something you don't like, get involved," Bruce said. "That's how you make it better."




Ruth Hughs


Hughs has lived in Eudora since 1972 and taught at Nottingham Elementary from 1972 to 2004. She replaced City Commissioner Fred Stewart in 2010 and was elected as Eudora's first woman mayor in 2013. This is her ninth year as a city commissioner.


"It has been an amazing journey for me," Hughs said. "When I was elected, I knew nothing about city policies other than what I read in the newspaper. When I became a commissioner, I realized the city is an organism that needs strong leadership to move forward."


Nine years later, Hughs feels motivated to stay involved. If re-elected, Hughs said she wants to prioritize Eudora's infrastructure and water, as well as creating a safe way for residents in Eudora to cross K-10.


Hughs said she also thinks an important part of a future commissioner's job will be participating in the Nottingham project.


"It has to be about good planning and using our resources," Hughs said. "That is the most valuable property we have in Eudora. It has to be done right. We only have one chance."


The city of Eudora would also benefit from a stronger senior community, Hughs said.


"Eudora is a well-kept secret," she said. ""We will grow, but we want to grow responsibly. I think Eudora has everything to offer. This area would benefit greatly if we could capitalize on making the senior community stronger."


Hughs meets with the city manager twice a month to discuss the most pressing issues for Eudora and how they can be resolved, she said. As a commissioner, Hughs said she also likes to make time to actively welcome new businesses and attend other meetings in town, such as the Eudora Chamber of Commerce meetings.


"I just think that a commissioner is an ambassador for the city," Hughs said. "I felt like I was an ambassador for the school district for years, and it was an easy segue."


Hughs thinks Eudora is a proud community. To Hughs, something that sets her apart as a candidate is her ability to be an understanding listener to the people of Eudora.


"I think I have always shown that I am willing to listen, and I respect people's opinions," Hughs said. "If you don't give people respect, you don’t have much to give them."




Rex Tedrow


Tedrow, a real estate agent for Platinum Realty, moved to Eudora three years ago. Upon moving, he and his family started and began working on the Wakarusa Ridge Estates subdivision.


“My dad and my mom bought this ground here, and we annexed it into the city,” Tedrow said. “My brother built about a third or fourth of these homes and did all the infrastructure.”


He was encouraged to run for City Commission by his family, he said.


"I have the time, and I think I have the energy," Tedrow said. "I feel like I could do the job."


Tedrow wants to prioritize city infrastructure and increasing the tax base on industrial ground other than single-family houses in Eudora, he said.


"I think the current commission is doing a good job, but I'm just disappointed that we haven't had any movement towards that since I became involved with the development in 2002," Tedrow said. "If we don't plan ahead and try to get the base spread out a little bit, I think we're going to be in trouble five years from now."


Tedrow said a first step to bringing growth to Eudora would be looking at what nearby towns like Lenexa and Tonganoxie have successfully done for growth in homes and businesses.


"I know we want a small town community here, but I think it's going to be a problem if we don't add some jobs," Tedrow said.


Tedrow said his time and energy and desire to make a change are what make him the best candidate for election to the City Commission.


"I think it helps to have people who want to do the job," Tedrow said. "Nothing's off the table for me."


Reach reporter Lucie Krisman at eudoratimes@gmail.com.


Support our journalism by "subscribing" through a donation at https://www.launchku.org/project/16454/wall.

129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page